A time to grieve

Wise words and phrases that my mom and dad used to say throughout my life are frequently flowing through my thoughts. They are in English, German, Gaelic, Latin….  All in languages that my parents threw around like it was normal knowledge. Now I know better.
The grieving piece that I need and will continue to need, is definitely moving forward. Thank goodness for that. Talking with friends of my mom and my parents has been so bittersweet for me and for them as well. Strangely, or maybe not, two have passed in the time that I’ve been here in Berlin. I didn’t get to see them. A few I have talked with on the phone. A few I saw in person and there are still a few more to see.  If nothing else is accomplished, that time and space to sort through the grieving energy and the process of letting go will be a huge gift.  This whole time is a gift.

….I forget to name that important piece about this trip. But really its probably at the core of it all. The tasks really could wait. The traveling could wait. But not the emotional realities.

Leave a comment